Sunday, June 26, 2022

Full board of directors named in $1.25 billion hospital community foundation

Not pictured: Shannon Winslow. (Top row, from left to right) Bill Cameron, Stedman Stevens, Cedric Dickerson, Michele Holbrook; (middle row) Spence Broadhurst, Dr. Virginia Adams, Chris Boney, Dr. Patrick Maguire; (bottom row) David Sprunt, Hannah Gage.
(Top row, from left to right) Bill Cameron, Stedman Stevens, Cedric Dickerson, Michele Holbrook; (middle row) Spence Broadhurst, Dr. Virginia Adams, Chris Boney, Dr. Patrick Maguire; (bottom row) David Sprunt, Hannah Gage. Not pictured: Shannon Winslow.

NEW HANOVER COUNTY — The entire 11-member board of the newfound New Hanover Community Endowment, Inc. nonprofit has been named, with board members recently conducting their first meeting.

The endowment is tasked with managing $1.25 billion — the lion’s share of sale proceeds generated by the sale of New Hanover Regional Medical Center to Novant Health.

Related: County to loan new community endowment $100,000 as parties await hospital sale approval

Regulators are currently reviewing the sale in advance of its anticipated closing date, which is expected sometime in the first quarter of 2021.

Of the 11 board members, five were members of the 21-member Partnership Advisory Group, the community group tasked with exploring and reviewing sale or partnership options. PAG members were appointed by the New Hanover County manager and NHRMC CEO, NHRMC medical staff leadership, and NHRMC’s Board of Trustees.

New Hanover County Commissioners appointed five members to the community foundation, which they named upon approving the Asset Purchase Agreement with Novant in October.

The remaining six members were appointed by a successor hospital board. This board was created as a result of the sale, named by the NHRMC BOT (who were each appointed by county commissioners). No NHRMC BOT were appointed to the community foundation.

In a recent Zoom meeting, the community foundation met for the first time and elected Spence Broadhurst as chair and president and Hannah Gage as vice chair and secretary.

“The New Hanover Community Endowment Board looks forward to the opportunity of serving this community as we work to improve the lives and possibilities of all our citizens,” Broadhurst said in a press statement. “We have a diverse and committed group of people who truly care and want the best for our community, and we are ready and poised to begin our work when that time comes.”

Below, view brief bios on each of the 11 members:

County appointees

Spence Broadhurst (PAG member)

Broadhurst served as mayor for the City of Wilmington between 2003 and 2006. He is president of the eastern N.C. region of First National Bank and currently serves on the board of the Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina.

He has also previously served as a commissioner on the North Carolina Banking Commission; a trustee for the North Carolina Agriculture and Technology State University; a board member of the Wilmington Chamber of Commerce, Wilmington Film Commission, Wilmington Business Development, and Wake County Board of Health.

Dr. Virginia Adams (PAG member)

Dr. Virginia Adams was the dean of the UNCW School of Nursing for 14 years. She currently serves as vice chair of the New Hanover County Health & Human Services Board, co-chair of the American Academy of Nursing, Diversity & Inclusivity Committee, and chair of the Subcommittee on Physical & Mental Health Awareness and Involvement.

She previously served as a NHRMC BOT member and a member of the New Hanover County Board of Health.

Hannah Gage (PAG member)

Hannah Gage is the former owner of Cape Fear Broadcasting and served 16 years on the UNC Board of Governors. She was the first female chair on the board.

Gage currently chairs the WUN Radio Board and has previously served as a UNCW BOT member.

Stedman Stevens 

Stedman Stevens is the CEO of Vū Systems, an advanced imaging technology company. He formerly served as the director of business development and strategic planning at UNC Health Care.

Shannon Winslow 

Shannon Winslow is a strategic account executive for RxBenefits Inc., according to the Wilmington Business Journal.

Successor hospital board appointees

Chris Boney

Chris Boney is the vice president of LS3P, an architectural firm. He served as project lead for the Wilson Center in Wilmington and helped design Carolina Bay and Live Oak Bank.

Boney previously chaired the Wilmington Chamber of Commerce and Wilmington Planning Commission. He currently serves as chair of the Battleship North Carolina Commission and serves as a board member of the Cameron Art Museum Board of Trustees, and the Wells Fargo Advisory Board.

Bill Cameron (PAG member)

Bill Cameron co-founded and serves as president of the real estate investment firm, Cameron Management, Inc.

Cameron currently serves on the board of directors for Live Oak Bancshares, Cape Fear Memorial Foundation, and Champion McDowell Davis Foundation. He previously served on the boards of the UNC Health Care System, Wilmington Chamber of Commerce, Cape Fear Memorial Hospital, and as president of the NC Azalea Festival.

Cedric Dickerson (PAG member)

Cedric Dickerson is vice president of State Farm Agents and Employees Political Action Committee.

He previously served as a New Hanover County ABC board member, on the advisory board of the Boy Scouts of America, as chair of the Community Boys & Girls Club, and as a board member of the Cape Fear Community College Foundation, Wilmington Chamber of Commerce, Cape Fear Literacy Council, and Salvation Army.

Michele Holbrook

Michele Holbrook is the former manager of Wilmington’s Corning plant.

Dr. Pat Maguire

Dr. Patrick Maguire works for NHRCMC Radiation Oncology. He specializes in caring for patients diagnosed with cancer and has published numerous scientific articles on the treatment of several cancer types.

David Sprunt

David Sprunt served as longtime manager of his family’s estate at Orton Plantation.

Send tips and comments to

Related Articles