İstanbul escort bayan sivas escort samsun escort bayan sakarya escort Muğla escort Mersin escort Escort malatya Escort konya Kocaeli Escort Kayseri Escort izmir escort bayan hatay bayan escort antep Escort bayan eskişehir escort bayan erzurum escort bayan elazığ escort diyarbakır escort escort bayan Çanakkale Bursa Escort bayan Balıkesir escort aydın Escort Antalya Escort ankara bayan escort Adana Escort bayan

Thursday, May 23, 2024

Filing period for 2019 municipal elections ends, crowded races abound

WILMINGTON — The race is on for the 2019 municipal elections in North Carolina as official filing for candidates closed and there are plenty of new and old faces hoping to try their hand in local governance.

The City of Wilmington will see a crowded race for City Council with three seats up for election by Paul Lawler, Neil Anderson, and Mayor Pro Tem Margaret Haynes all running for reelection.

But it will be far from a sure thing for the incumbents as seven others vie for the seats.

As of Friday, the candidates for City Council include:

  • Paul Lawler
  • Harry Smith Jr.
  • Kimberly Spader
  • Margaret Haynes
  • Scott Monroe
  • Neil Anderson
  • Eugene “Mack” Coyle
  • Matt Thrift
  • Alexandria Monroe
  • Kevin Spears

Longtime Mayor Bill Saffo will also see a challenger as newcomer Devon Scott hopes to unseat him.

In Carolina Beach, four candidates are running for the mayoral seat which will be vacated by Joe Benson who announced earlier this year he would not run for reelection. Current Town Councilwoman Leann Pierce and newcomers Doreene Stanley, and T. D. Scaringi, and Tom Elicson will faceoff in November.

Several candidates are running for Town Council in Carolina Beach including incumbent Steve Shuttleworth whose term is expiring. Leann Pierce’s seat will also be vacated since she is running for Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem Tom Bridges has not filed for reelection.

  • Debi DiNatale
  • Lynn Barbee
  • Steve Shuttleworth
  • Jay Healy
  • Shell Serracin-Macon

A full list of candidates for New Hanover County can be found below.

New Hanover County


  • Mayor
    • Bill Saffo
    • Devon Scott
  • City Council
    • Paul Lawler
    • Harry Smith Jr.
    • Kimberly Spader
    • Margaret Haynes
    • Scott Monroe
    • Neil Anderson
    • Eugene “Mack” Coyle
    • Matt Thrift
    • Alexandria Monroe

Town of Carolina Beach

  • Mayor
    • Leann Pierce
    • Dorrene Stanley
    • T. D. Scaringi
    • Tom Elicson
  • Town Council
    • Debi DiNatale
    • Lynn Barbee
    • Steve Shuttleworth
    • Jay Healy

Town of Kure Beach

  • Mayor
    • Craig Bloszinsky
  • Town Council
    • Joseph M. Whitley
    • David W. Heglar

Town of Wrightsville Beach

  • Mayor
    • Darryl Mills
    • Greg Buscemi
  • Board of Alderman
    • Zeke Partin
    • Jeff DeGroote

Brunswick County

Dosher Hospital Board of Trustees

  • Debbie Wood
  • Robert Howard
  • Linda Pukenas
  • Joe Agovino
  • Jwantana Gardner Frink
  • Karen Wood


  • John Bradley
  • Jeff Gerken
  • Steve Hosmer
  • Barry Laub

City of Boiling Spring Lakes

  • Mayor
    • Tim Fullmer
    • Craig M. Caster
    • Eric Maynes
  • Commissioner
    • Teagan Perry Hall
    • William (Will) Rivers
    • Ernie Siriani
    • Tom Guzulaitis
    • Dana Witt

Town of Belville

  • Mayor
    • Mike Allen
  • Commissioner
    • Charles (Chuck) Bost
    • Morgan R. Mehler
    • Ryan E. Merrill

Town of Bolivia

  • Mayor
    • Ella Jane Marston
  • Alderman
    • Dewey Smith
    • Nancy B. Cook
    • Robert Merce
    • Kaitlyn Jackson

Town of Caswell Beach

  • Mayor
    • Deborah G. Ahlers
  • Commissioner
    • Marty Clarke
    • Dan O’Neill

Town of Holden Beach

  • Mayor
    • Alan Holden

Town of Leland

  • Mayor
    • Brenda Bozeman
  • Council
    • Rick Paxton
    • Veronica A. Carter
    • Louis Harmati

Village of Baldhead Island

  • Council
    • Kit Adcock
    • Joe Brawner
    • Michael T. Brown
    • John L. Fisher
    • Dan McConnell
    • Claude Pope
    • Peter C. Quinn

Town of Oak Island

  • Mayor
    • Ken Thomas
    • Cin Brochure
  • Council
    • Michael (Mike) Defeo
    • Dara Royal
    • Niki Cutler
    • Charlie Blalock
    • Jeff Winecoff
    • Sheila Mansfield Bell

Town of Ocean Isle Beach

  • Mayor
    • Debbie Sloane Smith
  • Commissioner
    • Dean A. Walters
  • City of Southport
  • Mayor
    • Joe Pat Hatem
    • Jerry Dove
  • Alderman Ward 1
    • Tom Lombardi
    • David Miller
  • Alderman Ward 2
    • Nelson E. Adams
    • Rick Pukenas
    • Lowe Davis

Pender County

Town of Atkinson

  • Town Commissioner
    • Michael W. Stealer
    • Bryan Stewart
    • Gary E. Alsup

    • Sara Fetty

Town of Burgaw

  • Town Commissioner
    • William E. (Bill) George III
    • Wilfred (Red) Robbins
    • Sheree E. Shepard
    • Vernon Harrell

Village of St. Helena

  • Mayor
    • Robert M. Barnhill
  • Council
    • Kaye Knowles
    • Nancy Jones
    • William (Cowboy) Hunter

Town of Surf City

  • Mayor
    • Douglas C. Medlin
    • Jeremy Shugarts
  • Town Council
    • Dwight Torres
    • Donald R. Helms
    • William J. (Buddy) Fowler
    • David J. Gilbride
    • Richard B. Vessov
    • Kathleen G. Sumner

Town of Topsail Beach

  • Mayor
    • Howard Braxton Jr.
    • Rodney J. Dillman
    • Steve Smith
  • Town Commissioner
    • Richard (Rich) Pollock
    • Joe Bell
    • John D. Gunter


Related Articles