Friday, June 14, 2024

Majority of Wilmington City Council up for re-election; filing starts July 7

Port City Daily file photo.

WILMINGTON — Summer is here in New Hanover County and while that means no school, long days and beach trips, it also marks the start to election season for several municipalities in our area.

The City of Wilmington, Carolina Beach, Wrightsville Beach, Kure Beach and Leland all have city and town council members with terms expiring in 2017.

Although the official date for candidates to file in New Hanover County and Brunswick County is not until July 7, candidates have already began to announce their intentions to run for election.

Election Day 2017 is Nov. 7 and residents can find a full schedule online for both New Hanover County and Brunswick County.

Thursday morning Deb Hays, current chair for the city of Wilmington Planning Commission announced her intentions to run for Wilmington City Council. Wilmington City Council members are at large representatives and non-partisan.

Candidates who plan on running in New Hanover and Brunswick County must file with their respective county’s board of election by July 21. Candidates in Brunswick County must pay a five-dollar filing fee when submitting their paperwork, while New Hanover County charges a $50 fee for candidates.

Port City Daily will continue to provide updates for the upcoming election as more candidates announce their intentions to run.

Whose term is expiring?


  • Mayor Bill Saffo
  • Kevin O’Grady
  • Charlie Rivenbark
  • Earl Sheridan

Carolina Beach

  • Mayor Dan Wilcox
  • Gary Doetsch
  • LeAnne Pierce

Kure Beach

  • Mayor Emilie Swearingen
  • Craig Bloszinsky
  • Jim Dugan


  • Mayor Brenda Bozman
  • Pat Batleman
  • Bob Corriston

Wrightsville Beach

  • Mayor Bill Blair
  • Hank Miller
  • Lisa Weeks

Related Articles