Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Rotary club announces NHCS Rookie of the Year finalists

The DA along with Sheriff have requested an outside investigation into allegations against New Hanover County Schools administration. (Port City Daily photo/Johanna Ferebee)
Five NHCS teachers have been nominated for Rookie of the Year. (Port City Daily).

WILMINGTON — The Rotary Club of Wilmington has chosen five teachers as Rookie of the Year finalists.

The process honors 20 New Hanover County teachers in their second and third year who were nominated by their school’s administration.

The following teachers were named finalists for Rookie of the Year:

  • Brooke Cunningham, 1st-grade Teacher at Murrayville Elementary, BT3
  • Erin Dancy, PE Teacher at Holly Tree Elementary, BT2
  • Rebecca Lloyd, EC Teacher at College Park Elementary, BT3
  • Kathryn Schoepf, CTE Teacher at Roland Grise Middle, BT3
  • Jessica Smith, 8th grade Science Teacher at Holly Shelter Middle, BT3

A committee of seven determined the five finalists by using a rubric to assess the teacher’s response to “What factors influence beginning teachers’ retention? As a beginning teacher, how do you enhance student learning, and how can you make an impact as NHCS Rookie of the Year?”

The finalists will participate in an interview with the same committee. This committee will select the NHCS Rookie of the Year. The announcement will be made at the Rookie of the Year banquet on February 14.

The full list of Rookie of the Year nominees is listed below:

  • Meghan Blackwood, Murray Middle 
  • Julia Cross, Hoggard High 
  • Courtney Dancy, Laney High
  • Kelly Ensign, Ogden Elementary
  • Lauren Jenkins, Porters Neck Elementary
  • Jennifer Keating, Codington Elementary
  • Rebecca Mangan, Myrtle Grove Middle
  • Lauren Marcincavage, Carolina Beach Elementary
  • Michelle Munoz, Ashley High
  • Jordan Nau, Rachel Freeman School of Engineering
  • Bailey Pullen, Williston Middle
  • Alyssa Sciaudone, EC Department
  • Elly Slugg, Winter Park Elementary
  • Jillian Stamm, Castle Hayne Elementary
  • Emma Turner, Johnson PreK Center
  • Jennifer Veltri, Mary C. Williams Elementary
  • Maddie Warren, Blair Elementary
  • Michael White, New Hanover High
  • XayBrianna White, Sunset Park Elementary

Editor’s Note: A previous version of this article identified The Rotary Club of Wilmington as The Wilmington Downtown Rotary Club. This story has since been updated and PCD regrets the error.

Have comments or tips? Email info@portcitydaily.com

Want to read more from PCD? Subscribe now and then sign up for our newsletter, Wilmington Wire, and get the headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.

Related Articles