Here’s who’s running for municipal office in the Cape Fear region

SOUTHEASTERN N.C. –– Election season has rolled around again and the deadline for filing for municipal office this season just passed Friday at noon.

Plenty of new and familiar names will appear on ballots across the Cape Fear region come November.

Municipal elections are nonpartisan, so there’s no primary before the general election. Below, check out who signed up in time for a spot on the ballot in their respective municipality:

New Hanover County

Wilmington Mayor:

  • Bill Saffo (incumbent)
  • Harper Peterson

Wilmington City Council:

  • Clifford Barnett (incumbent)
  • Paul Lawler
  • Jonathan Uzcategui
  • Luke Waddell
  • Philip White
  • Charles Rivenbark (incumbent)
  • Angelica Ulmer
  • Joel “JB” Brookins

Wrightsville Beach Mayor

  • Darryl Mills (incumbent)
  • Greg Buscemi

Wrightsville Beach Board of Alderman

  • McKinley “Ken” Dull (incumbent)
  • Hank Miller (incumbent)

Carolina Beach Mayor

  • Lynn Barbee
  • Dan Wilcox

Carolina Beach Town Council

  • Joe Benson
  • Michael Hoffer
  • Deb LeCompte
  • Vincent Losito
  • Charles Dunn

Kure Beach Mayor

  • Carig Bloszinsky (incumbent)

Kure Beach Board of Commissioners

  • John Ellen (incumbent)
  • Allen Oliver (incumbent)

Brunswick County

Brunswick Regional Water and Sewer Authority H2GO

  • Bill Beer (incumbent)
  • Robert Cruse
  • Ronnie Jenkins (incumbent)
  • Rodney McCoy (incumbent)

Dosher Hospital Board of Trustees

  • Douglas Jones
  • Linda Pukenas (incumbent)

Southeast Brunswick Sanitary District

  • Edwin Burnett
  • Charles Lloyd
  • Robert Smith

Village of Bald Head Island Mayor

  • Lou Earnhardt
  • Peter Quinn

Bald Head Island Village Council

  • Robert Drumheller
  • Scott Gardner (incumbent)
  • Emily Hill (incumbent)
  • Nathan McBrayer

Town of Belville Mayor

  • Mike Allen (incumbent)

Town of Belville Commissioner

  • David Long (incumbent)
  • Ryan Merrill (incumbent)

City of Boiling Spring Lakes Mayor

  • Thomas Guzulaitis
  • Jeff Winecoff

Boiling Spring Lakes Commissioner

  • Bill Clark
  • Eric Maynes
  • Kimberly Sherwood
  • David Mammay

Town of Bolivia Mayor

  • Ella Jane Marston

Bolivia Board of Alderman

  • Nancy Cook
  • Dewey Smith
  • Melissa Kay Walters
  • Teresa Mercer
  • Kaitlyn Jackson

Town of Calabash Commissioner

  • Frank Drury (incumbent)
  • Joseph “Jody” Nance (incumbent)
  • Michael Price (incumbent)

Town of Carolina Shores Mayor

  • Joseph J. Przywara

Carolina Shores Commissioner

  • Greg G. Davis (incumbent)
  • Lon Forehand
  • Walter B. Goodenough
  • Gregory L. Hapner
  • Debbie Watts

Caswell Beach Commissioner

  • George Kassler (incumbent)
  • Sharon Remaly

Holden Beach Mayor

  • Alan Holden (incumbent)

Holden Beach Commissioner

  • Patricia “Pat” Kwiatkowski (incumbent)
  • Rick Smith (incumbent)

Holden Beach Commissioner (unexpired term)

  • Page Dyer

Leland Council

  • Allison Dunlap
  • Jason Gaver
  • Louis Harmati
  • Bill McHugh
  • Nicholas Newell
  • Richard Holloman

Navassa Mayor (no one listed)

Navassa Commissioner District 01 (no one listed)

Northwest Mayor

  • James Knox (incumbent)

Northwest Councilman

  • Sheila Grady (incumbent)
  • Charles “Chip” Carroll (incumbent)
  • Aaron Perkins (incumbent)

Oak Island Mayor

  • Ken Thomas (incumbent)
  • Liz White

Oak Island Town Council

  • John Bach (incumbent)
  • Charles Farley
  • Mark Martin
  • Lynn McDowell
  • Loman Scott (incumbent)

Oak Island Town Council (unexpired term)

  • Bill Craft
  • Charles (Red) McWells

Ocean Isle Beach Mayor

  • Debbie Sloane Smith (incumbent)
  • Leigh Simmons

Ocean Isle Beach Commissioner

  • Susanne Adams
  • Tom Athey
  • D. B. Grantham
  • Susan Harrison
  • Wendy Hughes
  • R. Wayne Rowell (incumbent)

Sandy Creek Mayor

  • Glenn Marshall (incumbent)

Sandy Creek Town Council

  • Tina Colby (incumbent)
  • Anna Knapp (incumbent)
  • Austin Lentz

Shallotte Mayor

  • Walt Eccard (incumbent)

Shallotte Board of Alderman

  • James “Jimmy” Bellamy (incumbent)
  • Gene Vasile (incumbent)

Southport Mayor (no one listed)

Southboard Board of Alderman Ward 1 (no one listed)

Southboard Board of Alderman Ward 2 (no one listed)

St. James Town Council

  • Dennis Barclay (incumbent)
  • Jim Board
  • David DeLong (incumbent)
  • David Morgan
  • Jeff Mount (incumbent)

Sunset Beach Mayor

  • Shannon “Hotdog” Phillips (incumbent)

Sunset Beach Town Council

  • William “Bill” Boe
  • John Corbett, Jr. (incumbent)
  • Michael Hargreaves
  • Charlie Nern (incumbent)
  • John Shirk
  • Lewis Townsend
  • Richard Dysinger

Varnamtown Mayor

  • Judy Galloway
  • Bill Kirby (incumbent)

Varnamtown Board of Alderman

  • Tammie Galloway
  • Jan Varnam Hickman
  • Ada McDonald
  • George Ennis Swain

Varnamtown Board of Alderman (unexpired term)

  • Kristie Coble
  • Tony Varnum

Pender County

Atkinson Mayor

  • Elton Wendell Newkirk, Sr. (incumbent)
  • Bryan Stewart

Atkinson Board of Commissioners

  • Crystle Dunning
  • Penny Stith
  • Dee Turner (incumbent)
  • Denise Lewis (incumbent)

Burgaw Mayor

  • Olivia Dawson
  • Kenneth “Pete” Cowan

Burgaw Board of Commissioners

  • Jan L. Dawson
  • James R. Malloy
  • Brent A. Springer

St. Helena Mayor

  • Robert M. Barnhill

Helena Village Council

  • Neil Benton
  • George A. Brunetti
  • Judith “Judy” Katalinic

Surf City Town Council

  • Teresa Batson Batts
  • Jeremy Shugarts

Topsail Beach Commissioner

  • Morton Blanchard
  • Frank Braxton
  • Tim Zizack

Watha Mayor

  • Needham C. Hall

Watha Board of Commissioners

  • Kenneth Fountain
  • Samuel Stadsvold
  • J. Craig

Send tips and comments to

Print Friendly, PDF & Email