Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Here’s who filed for the 2023 municipal elections in the tri-county region

(Courtesy Pexels/Element5 Digital)

NEW HANOVER COUNTY — Voters will head to the polls this year for municipal elections, with Election Day scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 7.

READ MORE: NHC Board of Elections members vote on additional early-voting spot on Pleasure Island

Filing opened in the tri-county region, Friday, July 7, and closed at noon two weeks later, July 21. Across the tri-county area, there are races for mayor, council members, aldermen, and commissioners from coastal areas — Topsail to Kure Beach to Calabash — to inland towns, such as Wilmington and Leland.

This election year will include new rules being implemented, such as the voter ID law. Acceptable forms of ID under the new law include an unexpired North Carolina driver’s license, U.S. passport, state voter identification card and a local or state government-issued ID card.

Free IDs can be procured at the DMV and at county boards of election.

Early voting will open in New Hanover County from Oct. 19 through Nov. 4, at Board of Elections main office at Northeast Regional Library on Military Cutoff Road. The location will be closed Oct. 21 and 22 but will reopen Oct. 23. The other three sites — Cape Fear Community College, New Hanover County Senior Resource Center on College Road, and the Carolina Beach Town Hall — will open Oct. 28 to Nov. 4.

Brunswick opens early voting polls on Oct. 19 through Nov. 4 (closed Oct. 21-22 and Oct. 28-29) at Brunswick County Cooperative Extension, 25 Referendum Drive, Building N in Bolivia.

Pender County is also doing early voting but the board of election has not yet voted on the schedule; it will do so at its Aug. 22 meeting.

Below is the full list of who filed in the tri-county region. Port City Daily will be sending candidate questionnaires in coming months and publishing each individually for some elections, as well as folding it into a voter guide to run ahead of Election Day.

New Hanover County

Carolina Beach Mayor

Michelle R. Alberda

Lynn Barbee (incumbent)

Tyler McDowell

Chad Kirk

Carolina Beach Council

Jay Healy (incumbent)

Debra LeCompte (incumbent)

Danny McLaughlin 

Wilmington Mayor

Bill Saffo (incumbent)

Wilmington City Council 

Neil Anderson (incumbent)

Salette Andrews

Kathryn Bruner

Marlowe Foster

David Joyner

John D. Lennon

Kevin Spears (incumbent)

Kure Beach Mayor

Allen Oliver

Kure Beach Commissioners

David Heglar (incumbent)

Connie Mearkle

Tracy Mitchell

Dennis Panicali (incumbent)

Wrightsville Beach Mayor

Darryl Mills (incumbent)

Henry Temple

Wrightsville Beach Alderman

Jeff D. DeGroote

Zeke Partin

Brunswick County

Bald Head Island Council

Jerry Maggio (incumbent)

Virginia (Ginnie) White (incumbent)

Scott Thomas

Belville Mayor

Mike Allen (incumbent)

Belville Commissioner

Charles Bost (incumbent)

Joe Cranford

Morgan R. Mehler (incumbent)

Boiling Springs Lake Mayor

Jeff Winecoff (incumbent)

Boiling Springs Lakes Commissioner

Todd Ausborn

Teagan Perry Hall (incumbent)

Justin Lovin

Bolivia Mayor

Ella Jane Marston (incumbent)

Bolivia Alderman

Nancy B. Cook (incumbent)

Kaitlyn Jackson (incumbent)

Dewey Smith (incumbent)

Melissa Kay Walters (incumbent)

Brunswick Regional Water and Sewer H2GO Commissioner

Steve Hosmer (incumbent)

Barry Laub (incumbent)

Joanne Levitan

Brunswick Dosher Hospital Board of Trustees

Charles A. Drew

Angela L. Wadsworth

Calabash Mayor

Donna Prince Long (incumbent)

Calabash Commissioner

Forrest King (incumbent)

Michael Herring

Carolina Shores Mayor (unexpired)

Dan Conte

Carolina Shores Commissioner

Walter B. Goodenough

Beverly Mayhew (incumbent)

Harry (Bud) McClard

Marlene Vandergrift (incumbent)

Caswell Beach Mayor

George Kassler

Caswell Beach Commissioner

Melissa Alford 

Martyn Clarke (incumbent)

Kenneth J. Hudson (incumbent)

Holden Beach Mayor

Mike Felmly 

J. Alan Holden (incumbent)

Holden Beach Commissioner

Gerald Arnold (incumbent)

Page Dyer (incumbent)

Brian Murdock (incumbent)

Tom Myers

Maria Surprise

Tracey Thomas

Jim Bauer

Holden Beach Commissioner (unexpired)

Richard A. McInturf 

Rick Paarfus

Sylvia H. Pate

Leland Mayor

Brenda Bozeman (incumbent)

Leland Council

Bob Campbell (incumbent)

Veronica A. Carter (incumbent)

Navassa Commissioner District 1

Jerry Merrick (incumbent)

Navassa Commissioner District 2

LaTonyia Lowe

Navassa Commissioner District 3

William (Buddy) Ballard

Northwest Mayor

James A. Knox (incumbent)

Northwest Councilman

Sylvester D. Ballard (incumbent)

Michael Troy (incumbent)

Oak Island Council

Terri L. Cartner 

Bob Ciullo

Bill Craft Jr. (incumbent)

Niki Cutler

Mark J. Dolak, Jr.

Durral Gilbert

Randy Moffitt

Ocean Isle Beach Mayor

Debbie S. Smith (incumbent)

Robert Bullard

Ocean Isle Beach Commissioner

David Green (incumbent)

Mark Holland 

Wendy L. Hughes

Stephen S. Turner

Bob Williams

Mike Wade

Sandy Creek Mayor

Mel Miller

Sandy Creek Council

Nate Youngs (incumbent)

Shallotte Aldermen

Melodie Bryant

Karmen Custer

Carson Durham (incumbent)

Larry Harrelson (incumbent)

Edward Springer

Bobby Williamson (incumbent)

Southeast Brunswick Sanitary District Commissioner

Peter Goewey

William (Bill) Hurcomb

Gordon Corlew

Southport Mayor

Rich Alt

Mike Barbee

Joe Pat Hatem (incumbent)

Southport Alderman Ward 1

Thomas Lombardi (incumbent)

Marc Spencer

Southport Alderman Ward 2

John Allen (incumbent)

Bonnie L. Bray

Lowe Davis (incumbent)

Rebecca Azzato Kelley

St. James Council

Lynn Dutney (incumbent)

Jean R. Toner (incumbent)

Sunset Beach Mayor

Shannon (Hotdog) Phillips (incumbent)

Sunset Beach Council

Pete Larkin

Mike Pozdol

Daniel Shaw

Varnamtown Mayor

Gary Ross Galloway, Jr.

Varnamtown Aldermen

Kristie Coble

Sylvia Galloway (incumbent)

Randy Stevenson

Pender County

Atkinson Mayor

Elton Wendell Newkirk Sr. (incumbent)

Jason Spivey

Atkinson Commissioner

Bryan Stewart (incumbent)

Burgaw Commissioner

Vernon Harrell (incumbent)

John Johnson

William E. George III (incumbent)

Michael Pearsall 

William G. Rivenbark

Rochelle Whiteside 

St. Helena Mayor

Robert M. Barnhill (incumbent)

St. Helena Councilman

Carey Childress

Gerald Velie

William “Cowboy” Hunter (incumbent)

Surf City Mayor

Teresa Batts (incumbent)

Marc Caldwell

Surf City Council

Heather Allen

William J. (Buddy) Fowler (incumbent)

Alicia Hawley

Donald Ray Helms (incumbent)

Cheryl Crane Hunter 

John Koloski (incumbent)

Trudy Solomon

Topsail Beach Mayor

Steve Smith (incumbent)

Topsail Beach Commissioner

Joe Bell (incumbent)

John Gunter (incumbent)

Tips or comments? Email info@localdailymedia.com.

Want to read more from PCD? Subscribe now and then sign up for our morning newsletter, Wilmington Wire, and get the headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.

Related Articles