Monday, December 4, 2023

Cape Fear region to receive $6.3M from NCDOT for street repairs, maintenance

Towns in New Hanover, Pender and Brunswick counties will receive state funds to be used for repairing, building or widening streets, bike paths and sidewalks. (Port City Daily/file).

SOUTHEASTERN N.C. — More than two dozen municipalities in the tri-county region will receive state funds for resurfacing roadways and transportation improvements.

The North Carolina Department of Transportation is distributing more than $154.9 million in state street aid, known as Powell Bill funds, to 508 municipalities. Of that, $6.3 million is allocated to towns in New Hanover, Brunswick and Pender counties.

The funds are distributed twice a year to be used to maintain, repair, build or widen streets, bridges or drainage areas, as well as plan, build and maintain bicycle paths, greenways or sidewalks.

The first half the funds will be doled out this week; the second half is paid by Jan. 1.

The amount each municipality receives is based on a formula set by state law, with 75% based on population and 25% determined by the number of municipality-maintained street miles. For the tri-county region, Wilmington will receive the largest share at $3.3 million, followed by Leland at $762,742.

“The Powell Bill provides communities with funding vital to much-needed transportation improvements,” NCDOT’s chief operating officer Joey Hopkins said in a press release. “Cities and towns will be able to use these funds on many transportation projects that drive North Carolina’s economy and improve its quality of life.”

State law requires the North Carolina General Assembly appropriate the money to NCDOT from the State Highway Fund. Annually, municipalities submit a report to the transportation agency certifying they meet certain criteria outlined in the law, including levying property taxes during the current fiscal year and adopting a budget.

The Powell Bill is named for Junius K. Powell former state senator and mayor of Whiteville. He was the primary sponsor on the 1951 legislation to help cities with urban road problems. The first allocation was $4.5 million, distributed to 386 municipalities.

These tri-county municipalities will receive the following amount of funds by the first of the year:

New Hanover County

  • Carolina Beach: $211,159
  • Kure Beach: $69,707
  • Wilmington: $3,251,750 
  • Wrightsville Beach: $71,482

Pender County

  • St Helena: $11,585
  • Surf City: $134,634
  • Topsail Beach: $19,208
  • Watha: $4,848
  • Atkinson: $13,574
  • Burgaw: $119,170

Brunswick County

  • Bald Head Island: $48,776
  • Belville: $57,877
  • Boiling Springs Lake: $328,864
  • Bolivia: $6,985
  • Calabash: $69,888
  • Carolina Shores: $ 152,316
  • Caswell Beach: $8947
  • Holden Beach: $44,678
  • Leland: $762,742
  • Navassa: $47,239
  • Northwest: $28,214
  • Oak Island: $364,005
  • Ocean Isle Beach: $42,549
  • Sandy Creek: $10,781
  • Shallotte: $143,260
  • Southport: $143,291
  • Sunset Beach: $162,214

Tips or comments? Email

Want to read more from PCD? Subscribe now and then sign up for our morning newsletter, Wilmington Wire, and get the headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.

Related Articles