Wednesday, October 4, 2023

Nominations sought for UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame’s 11th class

Dean Berman, Adrienne Sutton and Shawn Williams became Seahawk immortals with their induction early Saturday.
Dean Berman, Adrienne Sutton and Shawn Williams became Seahawk immortals with their induction to the UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame in 2014. File photo. 

Nominations are being solicited for the 11th induction of the UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame, with induction scheduled for spring 2016.

The UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame honors former student-athletes, coaches and administrators, as well as longtime contributors, at the institution. A total of 44 individuals have been honored since the prestigious order was established in 1998, including the inaugural inductee, former coach and department founder William J. “Bill” Brooks.

Inductions are held every two years. The Class of 2014 included NCAA diver Dean Berman, swimmer Adrienne Sutton and versatile basketball standout Shawn Williams.

Read related story: UNCW inducts three into its athletic hall of fame

According to the Hall’s criteria, candidates must have made outstanding contributions during their association with the university. If a student-athlete, the individual must have left the university in good academic standing. If a teacher, coach or administrator, the candidate must have held that position for at least five years. Special consideration will be given for significant contributions to society through community activities and performance in chosen fields that bring credit and distinction to the university.

Anyone may nominate a candidate to the Hall of Fame. Nomination forms are available on or may be obtained at the athletic communications office in the Nixon Annex adjacent to Trask Coliseum. Nominations must be submitted to Joe Browning, Chairman, UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame, UNCW, 601 South College Road, Wilmington, N.C. 28403, by Sept. 4. For more information, call (910) 962-3236.

UNCW Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

  • 1998 – Gene Bogash, William J. Brooks, Janet Johnson, Sam O’Leary, Raiford G. Trask, Carl Willis
  • 1999 – T. Eugene Dew, Amy Jackson, Estell Lee, David Miller, Dr. William P. Nixon, Jr.
  • 2000 – Joel Gibson, Bill Haywood, Jay Neary, David Sandlin
  • 2002 – Garry Cooper, Burak Erdem, Heather Fenton, Lou Howard
  • 2004 – Jill Amos, Gene Borowski, George Diab, Terry Middleswarth, Dave Wolff
  • 2006 – Eddie Booth, Mel Gibson, Amy Lewis Holland, Bill Mayew
  • 2008 – Sandy Dew, Calvin Lane, Michael McDuffie, Christy Timbers Rife
  • 2010 – Gwen Austin, Bruce Cavenaugh, Dan Gallagher, Bill Harris, George Rountree, III
  • 2012 – Sheila Boles, Derek Brown, Xavier Chisholm, David Jones
  • 2014 – Dean Berman, Adrienne Sutton, Shawn Williams

Related Articles