Sunday, January 23, 2022

Candidate filing is now open. Here’s who filed so far

Candidate filing is open Dec. 6 through Dec. 17. (Port City Daily/Alexandria Sands Williams)

Update: The North Carolina Supreme Court has ordered a suspension of all filing in the 2022 primary while gerrymandering lawsuits are ongoing. The Mar. 8 primary has been rescheduled for May 17.

NEW HANOVER COUNTY — Eager candidates headed to the board of election sites across North Carolina to confirm their runs in the 2022 election Monday, the day filing opened. Across the tri-county area, there are races for county sheriffs, seven open seats on boards of commissioners and nine school board seats up for grabs. All hold four-year terms.

Filing for U.S. House, N.C. House and N.C. Senate was suspended Monday through an order by the N.C. Court of Appeals in response to allegations that the Republican-led general assembly engaged in gerrymandering. The order has been lifted as of Tuesday morning.

READ MORE: What redistricting looks like in the Cape Fear region

Individuals have until Friday, Dec. 17, at noon to announce their candidacy. Depending upon the office they are seeking, candidates must pay a filing fee and submit a notice of candidacy form with either their county board of elections or the North Carolina State Board of Elections.

The primaries will be held Mar. 8, with early voting taking place from Feb. 17 to Mar. 5. The general election will follow on Nov. 8, with early voting from Oct. 20 to Nov. 5. 

Voter registration deadlines are Feb. 11 and Oct. 14. People can register by submitting a voter registration application online or by mailing this form, or check if they are already registered here.

Below are the local offices with elections this year and who has announced their candidacy. Port City Daily will continue to update this story as more candidates file through the deadline.


New Hanover County Clerk of Superior Court, four-year term
Incumbent Jan Kennedy (R)

New Hanover County Sheriff, four-year term
Incumbent Sheriff Ed McMahon (D)
Kelvin Hargrove (D)

New Hanover County Board of Commissioners, four-year term
Democrats Julia Olson-Boseman’s and Rob Zapple’s terms are expiring. Electees would join or re-join Bill Rivenbark (R), Deb Hays (R), and Jonathan Barfield, Jr (D), elected in 2020 to the board.

Incumbent Rob Zapple (D)
LeAnn Pierce (R)
Travis Robinson (D)

New Hanover County Board of Education, four-year terms
Democrats Stefanie Adams, Nelson Beaulieu, Judy Justice and Republican Pete Wildeboer all have terms that are expiring. Electees would join or re-join Republican Stephanie Kraybill and Democrats Hugh McManus and Stephanie Walker.

Incumbent Nelson Beaulieu (D)
Incumbent Judy Justice (D)
Dorian Cromartie (D)
Melissa Mason (R)


Brunswick County Clerk of Superior Court, four-year term
James MacCallum’s (R) four-year term is expiring next year.

Katie Madon (R)
Kathryn Adams (R)

Brunswick County Board of Commissioners, four-year term
Seats for county commissioner in districts 1 and 2 are up for re-election. Both incumbents have already refiled. The electees would join or re-join the all-Republican board with Frank Williams, Pat Sykes and Mike Forte.

District 1
Incumbent Randy Thompson (R) 

District 2
Incumbent Marty Cooke (R)
Art Dornfeld (R) 

Brunswick County Board of Education, four-year term
Seats for the school boards are open in districts 3 and 5. Robin Moffitt’s (R) and Jerry Benton’s (R) terms are up next year. The electees would join the all-Republican board with District 1’s Ed Lemon, District 2’s David Robinson and District 4’s Steven Barger.

District 5
Randy Fennell (R)

District 3
Bill Flythe (D)


Pender County Sheriff, four-year term
Incumbent Alan Cutler (R)

Pender County Clerk Of Superior Court, four-year term
Incumbent Elizabeth Craver (R)

Pender County Board Of Commissioners, four-year term
Seats are open in districts 1, 2 and 3, currently held by David Williams, David Piepmeyer and chair George R. Brown Jr.

District 1
Jimmy Tate (R)

District 2
Wendy Fletcher-Hardee (R)

Pender County Board Of Education, four-year term
Seats are open in districts 1, 2 and 4, currently held by Cindy Faulk Fontana, Beth Burns and Ken Smith.

District 2
Incumbent Beth Burns (R)

District 4
Incumbent Ken Smith (R)


Senate, District 7, two-year term
Incumbent Michael Lee (R)

House of Representatives, District 20, two-year term
Incumbent Ted Davis, Jr. (R)

House of Representatives, District 19, two-year term
Incumbent Charlie Miller (R)

House of Representatives, District 17, two-year-term
Incumbent Frank Iler (R)


Senate, six-year term
There is one seat. Richard Burr is not seeking re-election. Thom Tillis’ term is not up until 2026.

Rett Newton (D)
Benjamin Griffiths (R)
Lee Brian (R)
Lichia Sibhatu (R)
Jen Banwart (R)
Charles Kenneth Moss (R)

Send tips and comments to

Alexandria Sands Williams
Alexandria Sands Williams is a journalist covering the City of Wilmington, education and film. Before Port City Daily, she spent a year in the quaint city of Southport reporting for the award-winning State Port Pilot. Prior to that, she wrote for several Charlotte publications while studying at UNC Charlotte. When not writing, Williams is most likely in the gym, reading or spending time with her Golden Pyrenees. Reach her at or on Twitter @alexsands_

Related Articles