Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Neighbors won’t stop launching fireworks? Police say to give them a call

Fireworks marked the end of the 34th annual North Carolina Holiday Flotilla. (Port City Daily photo/Mark Darrough)
Fireworks that leave the ground are illegal in North Carolina but that hasn’t stopped residents from launching their own impromptu shows. (Port City Daily photo/Mark Darrough)

NEW HANOVER COUNTY — This year thanks to Covid-19 many fireworks displays across the region were called off, but that didn’t stop residents from obtaining fireworks and putting on their own impromptu shows.

While some fireworks are legal in the state, most are prohibited, but they are easily obtainable in South Carolina.

Despite the fact the holiday is over, residents have continued celebrating with fireworks — much to the dismay of neighbors, pets, and those with sensory issues.

Many people have turned to social media to vent their frustrations about the excessive amount of explosives going off, not just for the holiday weekend, but it has been a complaint for the past few weeks.

While it would be a logistical dilemma to try and investigate every firework launched on the 4th of July, the police’s ability to actually issue citations for illegal fireworks and noise violations is easier after the more popular time.

Wilmington Police Department Spokeswoman Linda Thompson suggested residents who know where fireworks are being launched from call the police so they can respond and issue a citation.

Another issue for police is catching those in the act, a lot of the times if police are called to a scene the fireworks and those shooting them off have already moved inside, Thompson said.

In both New Hanover County as well as inside the City of Wilmington, noise ordinances also give residents who have been bothered by inconsiderate neighbors some relief. And for those who choose to continue creating excess noise, it could end up getting expensive fast.

“Any person who violates the provisions of this article shall receive a citation which subjects the offender to a civil penalty of $100.00 for a first offense, $300.00 for a second offense, and $500.00 for a third or subsequent offense. The penalty may be recovered by the county in a civil action in the nature of debt if the offender does not pay the penalty within 20 days after being cited. Each day of a continuing violation shall constitute a separate offense under this article,” according to New Hanover County’s noise ordinance.

It’s not just a civil citation people need to worry about if they choose to launch prohibited fireworks

Since it is a Class 2 misdemeanor, if caught and charged, you could be fined up to $500 and spend up to six months in jail.

While different municipalities and counties have different noise ordinances that typically prohibit excess noises during different times of the day. However, since most fireworks are illegal in the state, residents can make a complaint at any time.


Related Articles