Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Candidate filing period ends for spring primary elections

New Hanover's School Board, Pender's Sheriff's Office have numerous candidates.

WILMINGTON — This filing period for the 2018 primary elections has ended, and several races in Southeast N.C. are brimming with candidates – while others, like district attorney, remain a one-candidate show.

North Carolina and U.S.

U.S. Congressman for District 7 David Rouzer, a Republican, will face either Kyle Horton or Grayson Parker in the general election in November, depending on which Democratic candidate wins in the spring primary election.

New Hanover County

Two New Hanover County commissioners have terms expiring this year, Rob Zapple and Skip Watkins.

Zapple, a Democrat will face James Middleton and Julia Olsen-Boseman in the primary race.

Watkins will run against Eric Lytle for the Republican seat.

The New Hanover County Board of Education race is a more full house, with 11 candidates in total. Bruce Shell, Edward Higgins and Janice Cavenaugh currently hold spots on the board and are running for reelection.

For the Democrats, Judy Justice, Elena Rosemond-Hoerr, Stefanie Adams, and Nelson Beaulieu have filed for the school board.

On the Republican side, Don Hayes, Higgins, Frank Meares, Christopher Morgoan, Bill Rivenbark, Shell and Cavenaugh have filed their intentions to run.

Pender County

Another race that has seen lots of interest is that of Pender County Sheriff, after current Sheriff Carson Smith announced he would not be seeking reelection.

The Republican race will see seven candidates including, Jason Spivey, Jimmie Stokes, Chester Ward, Larry Brown, Randy Burton, Joe Cina, and Alan Cutler.

Only one Democrat has filed for the sheriff’s position, Lawrence Fennell.

The Pender County Board of Commissioners has three members with terms expiring: George Brown, David Williams, and David Piepmeyer have all filed for reelection.

Brown, a Republican will run against David Fallin in the primary election, while Williams and Piepmeyer are the sole candidates from their party and district.

Brunswick County

The Brunswick County Board of Education District 5 has three Republican candidates running in the primary: Jerry Benton, Robert Cruse, and John Thompson. Joanne Levitan is the sole democrat running for District 5.

The Brunswick County Board of Commissioners District 1 will see Republican’s Randy Thompson and Tom Adams running. And District 2 Republican Marty Cooke is running unopposed.

Follow us on Facebook to join the conversation about the latest news from the Cape Fear.

Related Articles