Tyner, Witmer take Mideastern Conference Runner of the Year awards after standout seasons

PortCityDaily.com is your source for free news and information in the Wilmington area.

Postseason awards continue to roll in for individuals competing in fall sports at the high school level as Laney and Hoggard put in a strong effort during the cross-country season to claim Mideastern Conference Runner of the Year accolades.

Natalie Tyner.
Natalie Tyner.

Sophomore Natalie Tyner placed seventh at the North Carolina High School Athletic Association 4A Championship in Kernersville a few weeks back. The second-year student-athlete from Laney High School helped guide the Bucs to its second consecutive Mideastern Conference and New Hanover County Championship alongside First-Team honorees Cameron Smithwick, Haley Smithwick and Erin Coon.

Tyner won the 4A East Regional and was one of only two girls in North Carolina to break the 18 minute mark at the midway point of the season. Her best time this season was 17:58 during the 3.1 mile meet schedule.

The Smithwick twins are expected to run in college after graduating this spring, while Sam Bobbitt earned Mideastern Conference Coach of the Year for helping propel the Bucs to another strong season.

On the boys side, Jamie Witmer took Runner of the Year as he and Hoggard teammate Erik Dahlgren paced the division. Witmer battled through a shin injury during the midseason push, but still claimed the individual title in the county and conference championship meets. He and Dahlgren finished first and second in the 4A East Regional, while Dahlgren was the top local performer in the 4A state race, finishing 19th of the 139 runners in the field.

Topsail’s Chad Campbell and Jaxon Hudson of South Brunswick also earned First-Team All-Conference mentions after advancing to the 3A NCHSAA meet.

Erik Dahlgren, left, and Jamie Witmer.
Erik Dahlgren, left, and Jamie Witmer.

 Boys Cross-Country

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jamie Witmer, Hoggard

COACH OF THE YEAR: Billy Mason, Hoggard



  • Jamie Witmer, Hoggard
  • Erik Dahlgren, Hoggard
  • Chad Campbell, Topsail
  • Jaxon Hudson, South Brunswick
  • Aidan Flynn, Ashley
  • Conner Riggs, Laney
  • Carson Mays, Hoggard

Girls Cross-Country

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Natalie Tyner, Laney

COACH OF THE YEAR: Sam Bobbitt, Laney

CO-TEAM SPORTSMANSHIP AWARDS: New Hanover & South Brunswick


  • Natalie Tyner, Laney
  • Cameron Smithwick, Laney
  • Lilli Johnson, Hoggard
  • Skylar Burke, Hoggard
  • Erin Coon, Laney
  • Ryleigh McIntyre, Ashley
  • Haley Smithwick, Laney