Hoggard, Ashley dominate Mideastern Conference lacrosse selections

PortCityDaily.com is your source for free news and information in the Wilmington area.

While the Hoggard boys lacrosse team made it further than any other local program this spring, coming one win away from advancing to the state championship, girls’ lacrosse was a bit more closely contested within the Mideastern Conference as Hoggard and Ashley battled neck and neck for much of the season.

Boys’ lacrosse

The Vikings landed six players on the First-Team All-Conference list, led by Player of the Year Trenton Novelli. Hoggard went 12-0 in league play and 18-3 overall, eventually falling 13-6 to Cardinal Gibbons in the 4A East Regional. Gibbons claimed this year’s 4A Championship.

Trenton Novelli. Photo courtesy- John Crouch
Trenton Novelli. Photo courtesy- John Crouch

Hoggard outscored opponents 288-107 this season, with a 12-1 mark on their home field at Scott Braswell Stadium. Skyler Magsig, Luke Frankeny, Gunner Phillipp and Donovan Jones paced a relentless attack for the Vikings. Phillipp and Frankeny combined for 122 goals, while Jones had a team-high 40 assists.

Shane McCormick, Cole Tanner and Josh Schutt represented Laney among first-team all-conference members. Led by Mideastern Conference Coach of the Year Ken Broomfield, the Bucs were 9-3 in the division and 12-5 overall

Ashley’s Fletcher Steveson was also named to the first-team. He had 50 goals this season for a much improved Screaming Eagles program.

 Player of the Year: Trenton Novelli, Hoggard

Coach of the Year: Ken Broomfield, Laney

Team Sportsmanship Award: South Brunswick


  • GK– Trenton Novelli, Hoggard
  • LSM– Shane McCormick, Laney
  • DEF– Mason Holmes, Ashley
  • DEF– Grey Kendrick, Hoggard
  • DEF– Cole Tanner, Laney
  • MID– Fletcher Steveson, Ashley
  • MID– Donovan Jones, Hoggard
  • MID– Skyler Magsig, Hoggard
  • ATT– Luke Frankeny, Hoggard
  • ATT– Gunner Phillipp, Hoggard
  • ATT– Josh Schutt, Laney

Girls’ lacrosse

Sophomore Averee Gerold has been a star in the making since joining the Ashley High School girls’ lacrosse team last spring. Now a sophomore, Gerold solidified herself as one of the area’s most impressive players by landing the Mideastern Conference Player of the Year award.

Averee Gerold. Photo courtesy- John Crouch.
Averee Gerold. Photo courtesy- John Crouch.

She guided the Screaming Eagles to a 10-2 conference record and 14-3 overall mark. Ashley held a 254/81 goals for/against average, with all three of its losses coming to crosstown rival Hoggard, including a 13-6 season-ending setback in the third round of the state playoffs.

In 17 matches, Gerold totaled 89 goals, with 10 assists. Classmate Corisa Alkins also made first-team all-conference, with a team-high 72 assists for Ashley. Senior goalkeeper Kelsie Meadows rounded out the three Ashley players to make the first team.

Four Hoggard players were recognized for their efforts as first-team all-conference selections, including Kendal Goldblum, Lindsey Yelton, Madison Kosh and Hyla Zouzias. The Vikings were 18-2 overall and 12-0 as Mideastern Conference Champions.

Goldblum tallied a team-high 85 goals and 41 assists, while Yelton rounded out a strong senior campaign with 51 goals and 16 assists.

Laney landed three players on first team as senior Hailey Sanderson (31 goals/16 assists) and Rachel Smith (35 goals/7 assists) propelled the Bucs to a winning record. Junior Elizabeth Peasley will be back for another year as the team’s leading point maker, with 47 goals and 24 assists.

Player of the Year: Averee Gerold, Ashley

Coach of the Year: Erin Redmond, Hoggard

Team Sportsmanship Award: South Brunswick

First Team

  • Averee Gerold, Ashley
  • Corisa Alkins, Ashley
  • Kelsie Meadows, Ashley
  • Kendal Goldblum, Hoggard
  • Lindsey Yelton, Hoggard
  • Hyla Zouzias, Hoggard
  • Madison Kosh, Hoggard
  • Hailey Sanderson, Laney
  • Elizabeth Peasley, Laney
  • Rachel Smith, Laney
  • Elizabeth Warren, New Hanover
  • Madison DeVries, Topsail