Impressive spring lands New Hanover’s Tyler Mideastern Conference Golfer of the Year award is your source for free news and information in the Wilmington area.

With the spring sports season officially in the books for 2016, coaches from across the seven-team Mideastern Conference recently met to vote on this year’s postseason awards, including Player of the Year and Coach of the Year honors.


 Junior transfer Jackson Tyler burst onto the high school golf scene this year and propelled New Hanover to an appearance at the 2016 North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA) 4A Championship at Pinehurst.

Jackson Tyler. File photo.
Jackson Tyler. File photo.

Tyler was named Mideastern Conference Golfer of the Year after capturing individual medalist honors in nearly every league event held this spring, then claiming the top spot at the Mideastern Conference Championship and Wilmington High School Championship.

He was a recipient of a NCHSAA Peformance of the Week Award during the season. Tyler medaled twice in one week during his run this spring  after scoring 77 at St. James Country Club in Southport during the Mideastern 3A/4A match. Later in the week, he scored a 71 at Bear Trail Country Club in a match against New Bern. He carded his lowest score, 68, at Magnolia Greens Country Club in Leland.

“It was definitely a great season for our golf team and I’m super excited for next year,” said Tyler. “It’s an honor to receive the award and I hope to build off of those recent performances.”

Tyler also delivered a memorable performance to finish his junior campaign at the two-day NCHSAA Championship by carding a one-under-par 71 during the final round to climb up the leader board, finishing third among the 84 golfers in the field.

Teammates Brad Mickle and Brantley Moore joined Tyler as First-Team All-Conference selections, while Wildcats Coach Adam Perry was named Mideastern Conference Coach of the Year.

“I couldn’t have asked for a better group of guys to play and practice with,” Tyler added. “It was really cool to see that Coach Sperry got Coach of the Year considering this was his first year coaching.”

State qualifiers Jackson Young (Laney) and Nick Orsa (Hoggard) also earned first-team accolades, with Tucker Vaughn (West Brunswick) and Steven Crowell (Topsail) representing the 3A portion of the division as their schools top golfers this season.

Player of the Year: Jackson Tyler, New Hanover

Coach of the Year: Adam Perry, New Hanover

Team Sportsmanship Award: South Brunswick

Second Team

  • Jackson Tyler, New Hanover
  • Jackson Young, Laney
  • Brad Mickle, New Hanover
  • Brantley Moore, New Hanover
  • Nick Orsa, Hoggard
  • Tucker Vaughn, West Brunswick
  • Steven Crowell, Topsail

Second Team

  • Thomas Hill, New Hanover
  • Max Johnson, Topsail
  • Spencer Faircloth, West Brunswick
  • Michael Jones, Laney
  • Cole McCarthy, Laney
  • Wes VanAlstein, Ashley
  • Xavier Williams, South Brunswick