Three-peat: North Brunswick earns third straight 1A/2A Indoor Track & Field State Championship is your source for free news and information in the Wilmington area.

North Brunswick High School captured its third-straight 1A/2A Indoor Track & Field Championship following a dominating performance at JDL Indoor Fast Trask in Winston-Salem on Saturday.

The Scorpions earned points in nine events for a score of 64, well ahead of Polk County High School, who finished second in team rankings with 38 points. North Brunswick took first in long jump and 4×200 meter relay, with 13 top 10 finishes.

The North Brunswick track team continued its reign on Saturday. Photos courtesy- Larry Brock.
The North Brunswick track team continued its reign on Saturday. Photos courtesy- Larry Brock.

Jayhlen Washington successfully defended his individual crown as state champion in long jump (21 feet, 11 inches). The junior also placed runner up in triple jump and third in 55 meter hurdles. Washington teamed with Shaquan Graham, JC Smith and Cameron Barnhill for top spot in the 4X200 meter relay.

Barnhill took fifth in 55 meter dash, while Jathan Deberry placed second in high jump and 12th in long jump. JC Smith also had a strong outing, placing fourth in long jump, 13th in triple jump and ninth in 4X400 meter relay alongside Graham, Alex Justice and Keandre Yeoman.

As a senior, Yeoman was fifth in 55 meter hurdles and tenth in 300 meter dash. Classmate Jordan Howard took sixth in 55 meter hurdles and 12th in high jump. Kenny Korff rounded out the scoring with a third place finish in wheelchair shot put event.

While the North Brunswick girls didn’t fare as well from a team standpoint, four athletes have a bright future ahead after strong finishes in high jump, long jump, shot put and the 55 meter dash.

Jayhlen Washington defended its long jump title on Saturday.
Jayhlen Washington defended his long jump title on Saturday.

Freshman Brianna Sanders had a fifth place finish in high jump, while classmate Alyssa Godbey took 11th in long jump and eighth in 55 meter dash. Junior Dakota Desfonds was seventh in pole vault and sophomore Alleigh Himes placed ninth in shot put.

Boys rankings

 No. 1 North Brunswick, 64

No. 2 Polk County, 38

No. 3 Forest Hills, 36

 High Jump

No. 1 Luke Sheet, West Wilkes, 6-00.00 1.82m

No.  2 Jathan Deberry, North Brunswick, 6-00.00 1.82m

No. 3 Michael Streaten, North Rowan, 6-00.00 1.82m

No. 12 Jordan Howard, North Brunswick, 5-06.00 1.67m


Long Jump

No. 1 Jayhlen Washington, North Brunswick, 21-11.00 6.68m

No. 2 Braxton Knotts, Monroe, 20-08.00 6.29m,

No. 3 Anthony Chapman, Farmville Central, 20-05.75 6.24m

No. 4 JC Smith, North Brunswick, 20-02.50 6.15m

No. 12 Jathan Deberry, North Brunswick, 18-10.25 5.74m


Triple Jump

No. 1 Di’Joun Huitt, Bunker Hill, 46-07.00 14.19m

No. 2 Jayhlen Washington, North Brunswick 46-04.25 14.12m,

No. 3 Jamiroquia Faison, Hobbton High School, 43-07.50 13.29m

No. 7 Jordan Howard, North Brunswick, 41-07.00 12.67m

No. 13 JC Smith, North Brunswick, 38-11.50 11.87m


55 Meter Hurdles

No. 1 Elliott Graves, Reidsville 7.50 7.44,

No. 2 Ellijah Gaddy, Forest Hills 7.87 7.94

No.  3 Jayhlen Washington, North Brunswick, 7.86 8.03

No. 5 Keandre Yeoman, North Brunswick, 8.03 8.24;

No. 6 Jordan Howard, North Brunswick, 8.45 8.39


55 Meter Dash

No. 1 Elliott Graves, Reidsville 6.59 6.53

No. 2 Floyd Louallen, Forest Hills, 6.58 6.55

No.  3 Josh Polk 10 Hobbton High School, 6.79 6.63

No. 5 Cameron Barnhill, North Brunswick, 6.66 6.65


4X200 meter relay

No. 1 North Brunswick; 1:30.50 1:34.16, 1. Shaquan Graham, 2. Jc Smith, 3. Jayhlen Washington, 4. Cameron Barnhill

No.  2 Forest Hills; 1:33.26 1:36.30; 1. Scott Mcclendon, 2. Qua-Ronz Robinson, 3. Floyd Louallen, 4.  Ellijah Gaddy

No. 3  Monroe; 1:29.20 1:36.44; 1. Braxton Knotts, 2. Jd Mcmanus, 3. Jayqua Clyburn, 4. Jamari Elijah Bivens


4X400 meter relay

No. 1 Northeastern; 3:37.37 3:33.66;

No. 2 Croatan A 3:40.00 3:39.17

No. 3 Bunker Hill A 3:46.43 3:40.48

No. 9 North Brunswick, 3:41.00 3:45.75; 1. Shaquan Graham, 2. Alex Justice, 3. Jc Smith, 4. Keandre Yeoman 12