N.C. State-bound engineering student, golf standout earns player of the year honors

PortCityDaily.com is your source for free news and information in the Wilmington area.

Seven golfers from the area qualified for this year’s North Carolina High School Athletic Association state championship, and Sam Young of Laney High School was named Mideastern Conference Player of the Year after helping guide the Bucs to a Mideastern Conference championship.

Samuel Young. Photo by Joe Catenacci
Samuel Young. Photo by Joe Catenacci.

Young, an N.C. State-bound freshman and engineering major, finished tied for 38th at the state tournament and captured several individual medalist honors during the conference circuit at various courses across the Wilmington area.

Jackson Young also earned first-team accolades after qualifying for the state tournament, while West Brunswick’s Landon Patterson, Tucker Vaughn and Drew Boyer were selected among some of the top players in the seven-team Mideastern Conference.

The trio from Shallotte led the Trojans to a 3A state tournament appearance at Longleaf Country Club in Southern Pines as West Brunswick competed against the top 12 teams in their respective classification.

Patterson also closed among the top 40 golfers in the state at final event of the year, while West Brunwick’s Ron Ambrose was named Mideastern Conference Coach of the Year.

Steven Crowell of Topsail and New Hanover’s Brad Mickle rounded out the list of first-team performers. Both student-athletes competed at regional competitions across the state.

Tucker Vaughn, left, and Landon Patterson
Tucker Vaughn, left, and Landon Patterson.

First team

  • Sam Young, Laney
  • Landon Patterson, West Brunswick
  • Jackson Young, Laney
  • Brad Mickle, New Hanover
  • Tucker Vaughn, West Brunswick
  • Steven Crowell, Topsail
  • Drew Boyer, West Brunswick

Second team

  • Sam Jarden, Hoggard
  • Thomas Hill, New Hanover
  • Alex Jones, Laney
  • Jack Sandlin, New Hanover
  • Xavier Williams, South Brunswick
  • Hadden Dubel, Laney
  • Brantley Moore, New Hanover