Successful run as conference champions give Hoggard boys, girls lacrosse top accolades is your source for free news and information in the Wilmington area.

Coming off a pair of Mideastern Conference championships, the Hoggard boys and girls lacrosse teams swept player of the year honors as Gene Beckwith and Maya Ebrahimejhad were named top competitors for the season following a vote by the leagues seven coaches.

Gene Beckwith. Photos courttesy- Rodney Williams
Gene Beckwith. Photos courtesy Rodney Williams.

Beckwith, who’s headed to Mount St. Mary’s to continue his athletic career and education after graduation, played an instrumental part of the Vikings’ success over the past few years. The standout defender helped fashion a 183-26 goal differential in conference this season. Hoggard went 12-0 in league play and 16-2 overall, ultimately dropping a hard fought 8-7 contest to Athens Drive in the third round of the 4A playoffs.

Ebrahimejhad will also play college lacrosse next year for University of Vermont as the Vikings’ second-leading scorer. She tallied 48 goals and 19 assists for Hoggard, who finished the year 16-4 overall and 11-1 in conference. The Vikings fell in the East Regional this spring, one win away from advancing to the state championship.

Boys lacrosse

Player of the year: Gene Beckwith, Hoggard

Coach of the year: Keith Hatcher, New Hanover

Team sportsmanship award: West Brunswick


  • GK– Trenton Novelli, Hoggard
  • LSM– Zack Gowdy, Hoggard
  • DEF– Gene Beckwith, Hoggard
  • DEF– Connor Snow, Ashley
  • DEF– Keegan Santos, New Hanover
  • MID– Kyle Pucci, Laney
  • MID– Donovan Jones, Hoggard
  • MID– Christopher Blackman, Ashley
  • ATT– Luke Frankeny, Hoggard
  • ATT– Gunner Phillipp, Hoggard
  • ATT– Josh Schutt, Laney
Maya Ebrahimejhad.
Maya Ebrahimejhad.

Girls lacrosse

Player of the year: Maya Ebrahimejhad, Hoggard

Coach of the year: Erin Redmond, Hoggard

Co-team sportsmanship awards: South Brunswick/West Brunswick

First team

  • Kiara Johnson, Laney
  • Madison DeVries, Topsail
  • Averee Gerold, Ashley
  • Penka Heusinkveld, Ashley
  • Corisa Alkins, Ashley
  • Julia Buehler, Hoggard
  • Taylar Herman, Hoggard
  • Maya Ebrahimejhad, Hoggard
  • Kendal Goldblum, Hoggard
  • Hailey Sanderson, Laney
  • Rachel Smith, Laney
  • Remy Hoelen, Laney