Waren and Horton share honor of top tennis player in Mideastern Conference

PortCityDaily.com is your source for free news and information in the Wilmington area.

Chase Horton. Photo courtesy Rodney Williams.
Chase Horton. Photo courtesy Rodney Williams.

After helping guide the New Hanover Wildcats to the third round of the dual-team 4A playoffs and a Mideastern Conference championship this spring, rising senior Marshall Waren joined Methodist University commit Chase Horton as co-players of the year following a vote by the league’s seven coaches.

Horton’s success on the court includes earning four varsity letters, Mideastern Conference MVP in 2014, going undefeated 15-0 in 2014, and winning a conference doubles title and East Regional (with Noah Milliken) in 2014. He went 12-7  in singles this season and 6-3 in doubles. Horton joined Waren at this years 4A singles championships at Millbrook Exchange Park in Raleigh.

Horton was 44-18 all-time as an individual at Hoggard, which is ninth all-time in school history. His 33 doubles wins record is tied for 13th all-time.

Waren was the No. 1 singles player for New Hanover, amassing a 17-3 mark as an individual, while teaming up with Lucas McClatchy most of the year as the Wildcats’ top tandem. He also claimed first place in the conference tournament and 4A East Regional Tournament.

Patrick Senior and Evan Linett joined their teammates as first-team all-conference picks, while Zack Taffer and Dylan Russ represented Laney and South Brunswick, respectively.

New Hanover’s Kirk Schmidt was named Mideastern Conference Coach of the Year after just one season. Hoggard won the team sportsmanship award.

First team

  • Evan Linett, Hoggard
  • Zack Taffer, Laney
  • Patrick Senior, New Hanover
  • Chase Horton, Hoggard
  • Marshal Waren, New Hanover
  • Dylan Russ, South Brunswick

Second team

  •  Ryan Keller, Ashley
  • Noah Pieper, South Brunswick
  • Miles Hirschak, Hoggard
  • Dom Scialabba, Hoggard
  • Lucas McClatchy, New Hanover
  • Taylor Gaines, New Hanover