UNC Board of Governors Announces University-wide awards for teaching excellence

PortCityDaily.com is your source for free news and information in the Wilmington area.

CHAPEL HILL – The Board of Governors of the multi-campus University of North Carolina has selected 17 of its most outstanding faculty to receive the 19th Annual Awards for Excellence in Teaching.  Each award winner will receive a commemorative bronze medallion and a $7,500 cash prize.

UNCW Public Relations Director James Jarvis said a UNCW professor was selected as one of this year’s award recipients.

The 17 recipients, representing an array of academic disciplines, were nominated by special committees on their home campuses and selected by the Board of Governors Committee on Personnel and Tenure, chaired by John C. Fennebresque of Charlotte.  The awards will be presented by a member of the Board of Governors during the spring graduation ceremony on each campus, Jarvis said.

Professor Peter W. Schuhmann of UNCW’s Department of Economics and Finance was an award recipient.

Other winners include Associate Professor D. Scott Hunsinger, Department of Computer Information Systems, Appalachian State University; Associate Professor John W. Stiller, Department of Biology, East Carolina University; Professor Joseph Lisowski, Department of Language, Literature and Communication, Elizabeth City State University; Professor Carole Boston Weatherford, Department of English, Fayetteville State University; Associate Professor Stephanie L. Luster-Teasley, joint appointment, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering and Department of Chemical, Biomedical and Bioengineering, NC A&T State University; Associate Professor Susan E. Hauser, School of Law, NC Central University; and Professor Rupert W. Nacoste, Department of Psychology, NC State University.
Other winners are Associate Professor Linda Cornett, Chair, Department of Political Science, UNC Asheville; Professor Darryl J. Gless, Department of English and Comparative Literature, UNC-Chapel Hill; Associate Professor Joanne Maguire Robinson, Department of Religious Studies, UNC Charlotte; Associate Professor Lisa C. Tolbert, Department of History, UNC Greensboro; Professor Tim Ritter, Department of Chemistry and Physics, UNC Pembroke; Artist Faculty/Instructor Geordie MacMinn, School of Drama, UNC School of the Arts; Associate Professor Chris Cooper, Department Head, Department of Political Science and Public Affairs, Western Carolina University; Professor Dennis R. Sherrod, Forsyth Medical Center Endowed Chair of Recruitment and Retention, Division of Nursing, Winston-Salem State University; and Maria L. Hernandez, Instructor of Mathematics, NC School of Science and Mathematics.

Established by the Board of Governors in 1994 to underscore the importance of teaching and to reward good teaching across the University, the awards are given annually to a tenured faculty member from each UNC campus. Winners must have taught at their present institutions at least seven years.  No one may receive the award more than once.

he oldest public university in the nation, the University of North Carolina enrolls more than 220,000 students and encompasses all 16 of North Carolina’s public institutions that grant baccalaureate degrees, as well as the NC School of Science and Mathematics, the nation’s first public residential high school for academically gifted students.   The UNC Center for Public Television, with its 12-station statewide broadcast network, the UNC Health Care System, and the NC Arboretum are also under the University umbrella.